skip to content

Institute of Criminology


This prize is awarded on the MSt in Applied Criminology, Penology and Management in honour of the late Kathleen McDermott, for a thesis in which the author has demonstrated a gift for fieldwork which captures the excitement and promise of research.

Prize Winners:

  • 2017: Claire O'Sullivan
  • 2016: Maggie Bolger
  • 2015: Denise Downie & Bronwen Elphick
  • 2014: Christine Straw
  • 2013: Trevor Barr
  • 2012: Claudette Deysel