skip to content

Institute of Criminology


November 2009

Staff News

  • Dr. Adrian Grounds has been appointed as an Honorary Research Fellow for three years from 1st May 2010
  • Dr. Gareth Hughes' appointment as an Honorary Research Fellow has been extended for a further three years to 30th September 2012
  • Dr. Joseph Murray has been promoted to Senior Research Associate

Awards & Honours

  • Dr. Loraine Gelsthorpe has been awarded an ESRC grant for a project entitled The Criminalisation of Migrant Women
  • Dr. Joseph Murray has been awarded research funding from the Nuffield Foundation for a project entitled Effects of Parental Imprisonment on Boy's Delinquent Development and Mental Health
  • Victor Lissack Award & Victor Lissack Award Winners


October 2009

Anniversary Conference 24th September 2009

On Thursday September 24th 2009 we held a one day conference to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the founding of the Institute, looking at the history and current work.

Professor Alison Richard, Vice-Chancellor of the University, opened the event along with Professor David Ibbetson, Chair of the Law Faculty, and Professor Friedrich Lösel, Institute Director. Professor Roger Hood (Oxford) gave the opening address on the historical perspective, and the closing speech was given by Professor Paul Wiles, Chief Scientific Advisor to the UK Government. The remainder of the programme was presented by senior academics of the Institute and covered three main themes: Policing, Prisons and Punishment (Legitimacy), Prevention and Treatment, and Crime and Modern Communitees. Visitors included former directors such as Donald West, director of the British Societyof Criminology, Dr. Anne Brunton, and donors to the Institute Jack and Mary Wakefield; but with over 280 guests we can only mention a handful of names.

At the conference the Institute's anniversary book, Challenging Crime: a Portrait of the Cambridge Institute of Criminology was launched and copies are available from the Institute or the publisher Third Millenium.

Staff News

Awards & Honours

  • Recent Ph.D. student, Kofi Boakye, has won the Betty Behrens Research Fellowship from Clare Hall from 1 October 2009 for three years.
  • Recent Ph.D. student, Maria Ttofi, has been awarded a Leverhulme Research Postdoctoral Fellowship from 1 October 2009 for three years.


The 2nd International Conference on Evidence-Based Policing takes place 1-3 July 2009 at Murray Edwards College.

Staff News


    • Sarah van Mastrigt, Postdoctoral Fellow, is leaving at the end of June to become an assistant professor in the department of Psychology at the University of Aarhus, Denmark.
    • Professor Joanna Shapland has now completed her time as a Visiting Fellow.

    New Additions:

    • Lucy Markson and Karen Souza Souza as Research Assistants on the Ormiston Project.
    • Professor Ronald Francis as a Visiting Fellow until the end of September


    Awards, Honours & Research Grants

    • Professor Lawrence Sherman has been awarded the 2009 Thorsten Sellin Fellow of the American Academy of Political and Social Sciences.
    • Dr. Loraine Gelsthorpe has been elected a Fellow to the Royal Society of Arts - for her ‘distinguished contribution to criminal justice’.
    • Professor Alison Liebling has been awarded over £600,000 from NOMS over 3 years from 1 Oct 2009 - 30 Sept 2012.
    • Professor David Farrington has received a grant of £24,000 from the Barrow Cadbury Trust for work on the Cambridge Study.
    • Kofi Boakye  has won the Betty Behrens Research Fellowship from Clare Hall from 1 October 2009 for three years.
    • Maria Ttofi has been awarded a Leverhulme Research Postdoctoral Fellowship for 3 years.