The Institute awards various prizes and honours, including:

The Sir Leon Radzinowicz Visiting Fellowship

Established by Sir Leon Radzinowicz (founder of the Institute) in his testament. Holders of the Fellowship should normally be persons who have served with distinction in government, the judiciary, Parliament or other public office in the United Kingdom or elsewhere.
Previous holders have been:

  • Lord Woolf, the former Lord Chief Justice, 2005, and
  • Peter Neyroud, then Chief Constable, 2007.

The 2010 Radzinowicz Fellow will be announced soon.

The Nigel Walker Lecture

an annual lecture given by an eminent criminologist. The Lecture series was inaugurated in 1997 and is named in honour of the Institute's second director Nigel Walker, who served as the Wolfson Professor of Criminology from 1973 to 1984.

Previous Lectures:

1997 Professor David Garland
'Governmentality' and the Problem of Crime: Foucault, Criminology, Sociology
1998 Professor Stanley Cohen
The Sociology of Denial: Knowing about Atrocities and Suffering
1999 Professor Sir Anthony Bottoms
Criminology and the Problem of Order
2000 Professor Michael Tonry
Interactions between Crime Rates and Criminal Policies across Space and Time
2001 Professor Anthony Duff
Crime, Prohibition, and Punishment
2002 Professor Andrew Ashworth
Reassessing Robbery
2003 Professor Andrew von Hirsch
Penalising Offensive Behaviour
2004 Professor Franklin Zimring
Toward a Comparative Law and Criminology of Corruption
2005 Professor Nicola Lacey
The Criminal Jurisprudence of H.L.A. Hart
2006 Professor David P Farrington
The Development of Offending and Antisocial Behaviour from Childhood to Adulthood
2007 Professor Friedrich Lösel
Developmental Prevention and Offender Treatment: What Does the Evidence Show?
2009 Professor Robert Sampson
The Immigration & Diversity Debate: Insight from Criminology
2010 Professor Alison Liebling

The Nigel Walker Prize, awarded for an outstanding written contribution (usually a Ph.D.) to the field of Criminology by a member of the University of Cambridge. The prize may be shared

Previous Winners:

Manuel Lopez-Rey Graduate Prize, 1991 - 2009

The Manuel Lopez-Rey Prize is awarded for the best performance on the M.Phil. programme.

Previous Winners:

Year Prize-Winner Proxime accessit/accesserunt
1991-2 Robert Street Cindy Chandler
1992-3 Alec Buchanen Elaine Brown, Carolyn Newton, Stephen Pete, Leanne Weber
1993-4 Geoffrey Barnes Mary Bosworth, Tamar Halevy, Claire Valier, Alison Wakefield
1994-5 David Craig Sonia Bishop, Steven Goodman, James Oleson, Elizabeth Stokes, Mark Davies, Grant Muir, Michael Rice
1995-6 Amanda Matravers Belinda Brookes-Gordon, Paul Curry, David Price
1996-7 David Gadd, Brandon Welsh Debra Dhillon, Paul Quinton
1997-8 Alexandra Campbell Heather Linton
1998-9* Jon Olafsson Adam Hart / Helen Arnold
1999-2000* Christopher Mikton Philip Hadfield
2000-1* Cressida Dick Nathania Ma
2001-2 Joseph Murray, Anna Harle Florence Vial / Amanda Halpin, Ioannis Pavlakis
2002-3 Constantine Hotis / Kyle Treiber -----
2003-4 Leonidas Cheliotis Sarah van Mastrigt, Virginia Tam, Mary Taft-McPhee
2004-5 Mary Nel Ezra Tessler
2005-6 Lynn Kiddoo Tuba Topcuoglu
2006-7 Alexandra Cox Ivana Sekol
2007-8 Barry Smith Caroline Akers, Geoff Page
2008-9 Johann Koehler -----
2010-11 Dexter Dias QC Aaron Littman and Anneke Koning

* There are no records available regarding the award of the López-Rey Graduate rize for the academic years 1998-9, 1999-2000, and 2000-1; the names entered for those years are the students who achieved the highest marks on the MPhil course.

Victor Lissack Prize

Given to the M.St. student who achieves the highest and most consistent marks in the Diploma year. It is awarded in memory of Victor Lissack

Previous Winners:

  • 1997-8 - Peter Neyroud (proxime accesserunt: Matthew Baggott & Edward Belligham)
  • 1998-9 - Graham Barlow (proxime accesserunt: Nicholoas Tofiluk & James Barker-McCardle)
  • 1999-2000 - Philip Hagon
  • 2000-1 - Stephen Finnigan (proxime accesserunt: Richard Bryan, Jonathan Kaye, Jonathan McIvor)
  • 2001-2 - Martin Baker & Rob Golding
  • 2002-3 - Allan Gibson
  • 2003-4 - Adrian Lee & Ian Shannon
  • 2004-5 - Derek Benson & Gavin Sugden
  • 2005-6 - Neil Wain & Paul Clack
  • 2006-7 - David Leeney
  • 2007-8 - Stephen Ratcliffe
  • 2008-9 - Richard Cooper
  • 2009-10 - Alastair Jeffrey
  • 2010-11 - Andrea Caddick, Chris Noble & Robert Carden
  • 2011-12 - Jan Garton
  • 2012-13 - Nigel Goddard

The Sir Richard Mayne Award

Given for outstanding academic achievement on the M.St. in Applied Criminology and Police Management.

Previous Winners:

  • 2011: Andrea Caddick
  • 2012: Jan Garton
  • 2013: Mike Hulett

Sir Robert Peel Medal

The Sir Robert Peel Medal is awarded annually for Outstanding Leadership in Evidence Based Policing.

Previous Winners:

  • 2012: Anthony V. Bouza
  • 2013: CC Chris Sims OBE QPM

Kathleen McDermott Award

This prize is awarded on the MSt in Applied Criminology, Penology and Management in honour of the late Kathleen McDermott, for a thesis in which the author has demonstrated a gift for fieldwork which captures the excitement and promise of research.

  • 2012: Claudette Deysel
  • 2013: Trevor Barr

MSt in Applied Criminology, Penology and Management, Year one informal prize

  • 2012 - Trevor Barr
  • 2013 - Matthew Kelly

MSt in Applied Criminology, Penology and Management, Year two informal prize

  • 2001 – 02: Ian Blakeman
  • 2002 – 03: Victoria Jones
  • 2004 – 05: Chris Barnett-Page & Ross Wheatley
  • 2005 – 06: Mark Farmer & Margaret Adams
  • 2006 – 07: Nikki D’Souza & Stephen Hornby
  • 2007 - 08: Nicola Rea & Nikki Marfleet
  • 2008 – 09: John Brimley & Olga de Ribera
  • 2009 – 10: Ewan McKenzie & Bruna Valensia
  • 2010 – 11: Gary Boothroyd
  • 2011 – 12: James Henderson and Claudette Deysel
  • 2012 - 13: Trevor Barr and Brendan Christie